What to try next?

emjay70

What to try next?

Post by emjay70 »

So, I have 14 years teaching experience in the Primary sector including in private schools. I have extensive experience with Learning Support, ESL students, use of ICTs, teacher training and middle management. I have excellent references and have been told my CV is great. I also have extensive experience with Inquiry which is our version of PYP although I get it that they are not considered the same - yet there are a lot of similarities so clearly the transition from one to the other wouldn't be outside my grasp in a short space of time. My problem being I have sent well over 30 applications to a range of schools across SE Asia and have had one interview from it all. The resounding silence is positively deafening. The school I interviewed for did two interviews, got my references and then said I was over qualified. I think my problems could be:
1. I'm still in NZ - expensive to get me over?
2. I am travelling alone with a dependent - also expensive (accommodation and school fee waiver)?
3. No PYP experience
4. No international teaching experience

My questions are then: are the above reasons likely to put off employers or is it something else? Given how competitive SE Asia is for Primary teachers, and I can't change any of the above 4 issues without actually getting overseas, where should I look next? I just want somewhere safe (seeing as I am bringing my daughter), that I can do some travel from and if I can earn an extra coin, then that's a bonus. Any thoughts?
shadowjack

Re: What to try next?

Post by shadowjack »

Your problem is you are looking in SE Asia. If you are applying to the top level schools, they are more likely to save their primary positions for spouses of key hires - DP science people, administrators, hard to hire positions.

My advice would be to start, look outside SE Asia. The problem isn't YOU - the problem is everybody wants to work in SE Asia.