PD for non IB teachers

thaleia

PD for non IB teachers

Post by thaleia »

Hello everybody
I am a teacher specialized in Greek language, literature and history . My degree is in Philosophy and education and my MA in continuing education. I am interested in applying for a job to IB schools but I am not sure what kind of qualifications are required to teach at this position.I am also wondering if the field of my studies is demanded by IB schools.
Could anyone give me some information about what kind of professional development is best for the IB schools? And what kind of teaching position I could apply for?
Thank you
shadowjack

Re: PD for non IB teachers

Post by shadowjack »

A couple of questions.

1. Are you a certified teacher, with a teaching certificate issued by your government authority (state, federal, etc)? 2. What teaching areas are you currently teaching?

2. Where do you want to teach?

Some answers. Greek language, literature and history (if it is only Greek history :-) are not in high demand internationally. You might do well to hit up some of the UK or Swiss private schools.

As for PD for IB schools, don't waste your money. The courses you would take won't count for much. Finding a lower tier IB school that will train you is the best route in.
PsyGuy

Reponse

Post by PsyGuy »

What are you certified to teach and what teaching experience do you have?

IB isnt a school its a curriculum/program. It can be implemented in private/independent schools in which case the qualifications are likely whatever the school wants them to be. IB can also be implemented in public/regulated schools in which case you must meet whatever qualification requirements mandated by the national educational authority.