Moving schools frequently +/-

falloutmike

Moving schools frequently +/-

Post by falloutmike »

Hey!

So I am in my 4th year teaching and at my 3rd school kinder 1 year, 1 year kinder, 2 years kinder. The first school was alright but wanted to travel more. So moved to a new country and was in a terribly run kindergarten, children were not safe... so I left. Now at my current school for the 2nd year and the one good thing is that it is trying to get IB PYP, but not sure we will pass. Negatives include super high teacher turnover, one professional development opportunity every 2 years (nothing at all in between, we can pay but tough getting the time off or even updated on whats happening, plus terrible salary so its hard to afford). Also my head of administration has anger management issues and I am their stress release... as I get ripped apart by yelling and other terms of verbal abuse... As well as the worst paid school in the city. As well as finding out that my admin is giving false and negative references, which is hard to get around when schools ask for a reference from my current admin.
I missed out on a better school for next year. But two of the better schools (potential dream schools) have met with me loved me and hope something works out for them next year, although they are good schools and don't have much turnover.Now I may have an offer with another school that is 600-1000$ more a month but is another small kindergaten. But we share similar philosophies.
Questions is is it worth having 4 schools with 5 years experience? Should I stay in my completely miserable, depressing environment for the sake of keeping my resume more consistent? Any advice would be super helpful.
tangchao

Re: Moving schools frequently +/-

Post by tangchao »

There is another thread here about one year stints at schools. I think you'd better look at that. Needless to say, you are going to have to show some more commitment.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »