How would you count teaching summer school on your resume?

klooste

How would you count teaching summer school on your resume?

Post by klooste »

Hi helpers!

I am a first year teacher. One year of teaching experience usually means teaching from September-whenever your school year ends, correct?

I was wondering how would you count summer school experience on your resume? Not all teachers teach summer school, so could I technically add it as more "teaching experience" to my qualifications?

What I was thinking is this: summer school (at least at my school) is one semester, so couldn't I say that I have 1.5 years teaching experience after I teach summer school and get through the first school year? Am I making this too complicated? haha

One last thing: the summer program will usually ask teachers to teach something outside of their area of expertise. So for example, if I am an English teacher, there is a chance I may be teaching social studies. Does breadth rather then depth help on a resume? To clarify the former question, is it better to get two solid years teaching English, or to teach one year of English, a semester of social studies, a little history, some health 9, and maybe a dose or two of math?

My school is a two years and get out school, but the advantages of working at a terrible school is that once you stay more than one year, the principal will usually give you any class you want to teach. So yes, that means an English teacher could request a precalculus 12 course. I know its crazy, but I'm wondering if this situation can open up any doors for me (I would not, obviously, choose courses that are too far out of my expertise, because I still want to give the kids at my school a decent education)!

Thanks for the help all!
Helen Back

Re: How would you count teaching summer school on your resum

Post by Helen Back »