IB Certification

cattalus

IB Certification

Post by cattalus »

Looking to get into International teaching. I have twelve years of experience teaching various subjects in the social studies field but primarily history. I have multiple years of experience in the middle school setting, though for the last seven years I have been primarily high school. I am new registered with Search and from their database, I have seen that IB or MYP experience is almost a pre-req for every job. In my current school I have no chance of gaining this experience, however there is a local university that is offering an IB certification program that can be completed in 6 months. It costs about $6,000 and I am wondering if getting it would get my foot in the door of these schools. I am also curious if schools are significantly interested in recent experience in the age levels. Should I be requesting to teach some middle school classes?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: IB Certification

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

In past discussions, I believe the general consensus was that the IB certification was generally not seen as worth the investment of time and money. It would show potential employers that offered the IB that you are motivated to learn about the program but wouldn't really give you that much of a leg up (i.e. better than nothing but not really going to get you that much attention or extra consideration). Maybe someone will offer a different opinion/perspective this time around.