Special Education newish teacher, what are my chances?

spedwa

Special Education newish teacher, what are my chances?

Post by spedwa »

Hello all!

I am brand new here and definitely a noob to International Education outside of Dodea (many members of my family are employed by DODEA but I was unlucky with the hiring freeze). I am interested in going pretty close to anywhere but of course I have top picks for countries. I would love to go to Eastern Europe, North Africa, South/Central America and almost anywhere in Asia. I am open to UAE but weary of Qatar, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia (not saying I wouldn't go, but would want to learn more about quality of life).

I have a M.Ed and am certified to teach Special Education K-12 and Elementary Education. I have two years experience as a Special Education resource teacher but that is it. I am starting to understand that Sped positions aren't super prevalent but Classroom Positions are quite competitive due to a high amount of applicants.

I am married, my husband is not a teacher but is about to start an online Masters program in Education and plans to teach once he earns his credential. We don't have kids and don't plan on having kids.

Ideally we would like to find something by the beginning of 2015-2016 school year. Will my credentials/experience be helpful? Will I be considered for classroom positions even though I only have professional experience as a Sped Resource teacher? Can I still find a job even though my husband is not a teacher yet? Where should I focus on to up my chances? Any help/advice would be appreciated!
ISRian

Re: Special Education newish teacher, what are my chances?

Post by ISRian »

Hi, are you a member of any job posting boards like TIEonline?
Here are some elementary SPED job postings from the last month
Hope that helps
http://i1077.photobucket.com/albums/w46 ... oico73.png
sciteach

Post by sciteach »