New teacher. Loads of questions. Thanks for any help!

coysh2p

New teacher. Loads of questions. Thanks for any help!

Post by coysh2p »

OK. So I'll try to limit this so it doesn't become a novel.

I am in the last year of my American teacher's certification program. I'm 27 currently, and will be 28 when I finish in March/April of 2016. I started out with a degree is Business Admin, but found out quickly that my real passion was teaching, specifically history and social studies, and so took steps to make teaching my career.

I have loads of international experience in general. I have lived in Indonesia, Taiwan, Iraq, and Kuwait and have spent nearly half of my life overseas. My wife has spent even more time overseas. Living internationally has become a lifestyle for us and so teaching internationally is the obvious career choice, given our backgrounds.

To sum up my background. I have roughly 4 years of teaching experience at the upper elementary and lower secondary levels, almost all of which are ESL. I have no licensed teaching experience as far as "regular" teaching goes. I am in a Master's program with a certification track and will finish my certification in March/April of 2016 and my Master's shortly thereafter.

Also, I am married and have three kids (7, 2, and 4 months) - only one of which would be eligible to be in school for the 2016-17 school year. My wife is also an ESL teacher, but isn't certified and won't be for a while (we put my career/education first so she could focus on the kids - once I'm done, she'll probably try to find an online certification program).

Finally, my certification will be in Secondary Social Studies (History/Social Studies/Geography/Economics/etc. in the social studies realm). So, given the above information, I guess here are the questions I would most appreciate answers to: