Teaching Couple Retirement Planning Quesitons

GlobalGuy

Teaching Couple Retirement Planning Quesitons

Post by GlobalGuy »

Hi Everyone!

My wife and I are in our early and mid twenties, and we've just accepted our dream job in our dream location. We want to get started with retirement planning EARLY so that we have little to worry about a few decades down the road. The great thing is that our new school offers to match up to a 10% contribution to Raymond James OR a retirement plan of our choosing. A couple of questions for the community:

1) From what I read, Raymond James is NOT the way to go. We are both US citizens, and we will be out of the US long enough each year to get the Foreign Income Exclusion tax credit. Would Vanguard be the right place to invest? If so, which fund is best? Target retirement funds? Something else? (I am by no means an expert on this, so jargon is Greek to me.)

2) Is there any way to avoid paying taxes on retirement savings, even though (from what I've read) we will not be able to contribute to an IRA?

3) I have about $20K in a public school employee retirement fund. Should I reinvest that?

I appreciate any help you can give!
eion_padraig

Re: Teaching Couple Retirement Planning Quesitons

Post by eion_padraig »

I'd highly recommend Andrew Hallam's book that just came out called "The Global Expatriate's Guide to Investing". He's a former international teacher himself. Basically he suggests unmanaged index funds. Read this to avoid the really awful plans that are out there.

Previously he wrote a book called poor Teacher, which I haven't read, but I think he presents similiar, if less refined ideas about the same thing.

The way I understand it, you'd have to make income in the US to contribute to IRAs.
Mike

Post by Mike »

The best thing we ever did was to buy our house,(for the summer) no mortgage, no loans. Just saved the cash and bought it.