Licensure questions (for split positions)

kellysensei

Licensure questions (for split positions)

Post by kellysensei »

Some of this will be repetitive from my other recent posts, but I am trying to plan out my life for the next few years. I'm 35 years old (36 on Saturday) with a K-12 ESL teaching license and an M.Ed. in ESL. I have seven years teaching experience in the US and two in Japan (at a conversation school). I would like to teach ESL at an international school.

I realize that Psyguy doesn't think I have a chance in hell of landing an ESL job with two kids and a non-teaching spouse, but for argument's sake, let's say I will eventually hit the job jackpot.

From what I've seen on job postings and on faculty lists on school web sites, some schools combine ESL positions with other positions, like SpEd or Drama. I don't want to teach Drama, but I'm open to teaching computers/technology, reading, social studies, health, or even math. My question is, would certification be absolutely necessary for those subjects if it's combined with an ESL job? Or would experience and graduate credits be enough? I am able and willing to take a bunch of continuing ed classes (with graduate credits) in the subjects I mentioned, and those classes could include field experiences and practicums. But they wouldn't result in licensure. I guess I could possibly pursue licensure in computers/tech, but it's still expensive at over $6000.

So, should I pursue graduate credits and field experiences in any of those subjects? Which one would be most marketable? Or should I just stick to ESL and maybe get more presentation/teacher training experience under my belt?

Thank you for any advice.
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Licensure questions (for split positions)

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »