Renewing a US drivers license when you work overseas

writer

Renewing a US drivers license when you work overseas

Post by writer »

I have been teaching overseas off and on for the last 20 years and have managed to renew my NC license without much trouble, but my situation has now changed. I sold my house, so no longer pay property tax, etc....I basically have no real address anymore. And apparently NC is being a real stickler for proof of residency. aaargh!!! Any ideas??? How do people deal with this??? Advice welcome!
bananas

Re: Renewing a US drivers license when you work overseas

Post by bananas »

Do you have any friends/ family whose address you could "borrow"?
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

If you have credit cards you would have to have an address on file. Where does that mail go to? Yes, you probably do it all online, as did I, but still got bank notices (delivered to my sister's address). What about your state/federal taxes? How do those get paid and from what address?
Monkey

Post by Monkey »

I just had to deal with this problem last year. My state is a stickler for the proof of residence part. You can't use just any bill that gets mailed to you; it must be a bill that proves residence, like an electricity bill, mortgage, etc. So a cell phone bill or credit card bill won't work. The only thing I had that would work was the prior year's tax return with the address on it. And now I don't have to worry about my DL again for 10 years!
writer

Post by writer »

Ah, yes. the tax return. Yep, will have that for 2014, so that MIGHT work. However, wouldn't I have to use that address on the license? It seems like any other address I had on it would require me to show proof of residency for that particular address. Thanks for advice, everyone! I will ponder this.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »