Search email vs website email

Cangguru

Search email vs website email

Post by Cangguru »

Hey guys, first of all, good luck to all of us who do not yet have a position this year.

I have some questions. I am using Search Associates and TIE, mostly for the databases, but will also attend a couple of fairs. I have many years of teaching experience internationally but not at certified international schools. I am graduating with a BEd now and applying for next year, which is obviously a bit challenging, so I'm trying everything.

I am debating the merits of contacting schools through Search or their own websites. In some cases I've done one or the other, in some cases both. Obviously the confidential references in Search offer an advantage and the Search database is awesome, but also some schools listed on Search are asking applicants not to email through Search. Some are unclear. I'd like opinions on this beyond what I've found by searching this forum, but have more focused questions too.

Does the Search payment structure offer any reasons for employers to avoid responding to Search emails (commission-related)? How do schools access your Search profile if you contact them from outside Search? Is it easy or complicated? What are the specific downsides to either approach? Obviously if schools have a proprietary system or use something like Schrole, the application process should be through that, but what about otherwise?

In general, I've been finding schools through Search and contacting them through the emails provided after researching them. I started by emailing through Search, but then noticed that some schools don't like it.

So far, I have no interviews and many short-lists. However, most of the emails where I have been short-listed are responses to emails sent within Search.

Any constructive help is appreciated, friends. I sure could use it!
Cangguru

Re: Search email vs website email

Post by Cangguru »

Any ideas at all?
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »