Please share your positive experiences

MizMorton

Please share your positive experiences

Post by MizMorton »

Being a total noob who has made a zillion missteps already, I'm going to go out on a shaky limb once again. I'm getting the impression that this is kind of a dark place and I'm getting myself into a world of bitter nastiness teaching abroad. I love teaching and I currently work in a (US) school that's full of happy teachers. I've known a few misanthrope Debbie Downer teachers in my career, but they are the vast minority-- literally just one or two per school.

What confuses me is that I'm having to sell myself to schools that are seemingly full of drunken complainers, some with atrocious grammar. How did THEY get in?

Can any of you tell me about the good stuff? Or am I just in the wrong place?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

First, this forum (and the paid side) is a dumping ground for frustration. There are LOTS of sites and outlets to get IS sunshine and rainbows, but this is one of the few only sites where you get the doom and gloom.

Second, 95% of being an IT, and IE in positive stuff. If your realistic about who you are and have realistic expectations (its a small for profit school in a meh place, and your fine with that and will be fine with that) being an IT is a positive experience. Its the 5% that is the problem and by 5% I dont mean someone else I mean when the 5% dark foot of gloom and doom steps on you, and it will what happens, and how you respond to it. Some people (myself included) have skins of Teflon and just move on, always another day, change is inevitable, if your a bee most times you get the nectar, sometimes you hit the windshield. Shake yourself off, go back to the hive, rejoice in the new day.