How did you get your International School career started?

lunarium

How did you get your International School career started?

Post by lunarium »

Hi everyone,

I'm curious to know how some of you started your International School careers?

I have almost 9 years experience in the classroom (i.e teacher assistant, student teacher, ESL teacher in Korea) but since I have no International School experience or homeroom teacher experience, I'm not at all desirable to these schools :/
I'm thinking of asking some of the International Schools around me if I can be a Volunteer TA, that way at least I have some sort of experience in an International School setting. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by lunarium on Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

They likely would not let you volunteer and even if they did at most they would let you do is work a teaching assistant, they wont give you a classroom or be in a position as teacher of record. As such none of that is going to count its just going to be seen as ESOl experience with a hobby.

Well I started because I was running away from a whole bunch of student loans (among other things), and having been a JET and did very well at it I started out in the ME in the Kingdom, had a HORRIBLE experience and then pulled a runner to Thailand just as the November term was starting, was in the right place (meaning I was there) I was hired by an IS, then made my way back to Japan (Kyoto), then got to work in a lot of different schools and regions, first in Asia (Singapore, HK, China, Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, Taiwan, Malaysia) then WEurope (Italy, Denmark, UK, and several others) then went into DoDDS.