Fav positions are being deleted :-(

Fraisinette

Fav positions are being deleted :-(

Post by Fraisinette »

As we approach the Cambridge job fair, I feel less and less optimistic about landing a favorable job. What are the odds that more posts will open in late winter / spring? I'm a Newbie - any long timers out there with their two cents? TIA
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

Whats your definition of favorable? The upper tier schools do their planing in advance and when they do have a last minute hire the top tier school use a supply agency or they recruit only locally (since they dont have time to secure visas, etc). Second and third tier schools recruit throughout the year the Bethesda fair (the summer shuffle) is essentially nothing but bottom tier schools.

Schools will have some adjustments in staffing as summer approaches and some people stay and unexpected departures. The issue is going to be that the ones with significant openings or a lot of turnover arent going to be the types of schools youd want to work at.
wntriscoming

Re: Fav positions are being deleted :-(

Post by wntriscoming »

I would guess that 80-90% of jobs are filled by March. I know that all the schools I've worked at have done the majority of their hiring by February, and they all started the process of hiring in November. There's some shuffling late in the spring, as there might be sudden changes of plans by teachers who were planning on staying, but had some emergency that required them to go home. This can lead to late openings, but not many.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

No Bethesda fair anymore - at least I don't see it on Search Associates website listing all the fairs.
Fraisinette

Post by Fraisinette »

Thank you for your replies. It sounds like I should be optimistic about the Cambridge Fair then. :-)
PsyGuy

Discussion

Post by PsyGuy »

@Fraisinette