Do I have a chance? Advice please?

sophiamartin

Do I have a chance? Advice please?

Post by sophiamartin »

Hi all,
This year my husband and I have decided it's time to aggressively pursue our dream to go abroad. We are both teachers, though the plan would be for only one of us (probably me) to teach for at least the first year (though probably more like the first two) as we are having a baby in January. So, one teacher, a trailing spouse who is certified and experienced but would prefer to stay home, and two kids (one will be almost four next September, the other an infant). I've heard a lot of people say that having dependents and a trailing spouse *really* limits your options. We don't mind having a couple of tight years financially (this would be nothing new, actually), but will schools even consider us?

I'm certified in English, Drama, US and World History, Government, Psychology, Economics, Geography, and French. I have 9 years experience in and out of school teaching Drama, 3 years of teaching English, 3 of teaching US history, 2 of teaching World History and Gov. I have little real experience teaching Psych (though I did attend an AP training) and have done some special classes at my current school, and very little teaching Econ, Geog, or French.

I have a masters in American History. I am bilingual in French and English. Both of us have a little Spanish, as well.

My husband has seven years experience teaching history (mainly US) and five teaching PE, though he doesn't want to teach PE again because of an injury, so you should probably discount that.

All of our teaching experience has been at public schools in California.

So...
Are we even going to be considered?
Are there areas of the world that are "less desirable" which might give us a better chance of getting our foot in the door?