Working as a non-teaching trailing spouse (in Singapore)

hitherejen

Working as a non-teaching trailing spouse (in Singapore)

Post by hitherejen »

Hello ISR forum-I'm a long time reader, first time poster!

After much consideration, I have been selectively applying for jobs overseas and have now gained a second interview for a teaching post in a school in Singapore. My husband and I (no kids) are keen to travel and earn money in a different part of the world and enjoy seeing some amazing places.

I (hope) I have read enough on here and TES overseas forum to be aware of most things (although help and advice always appreciated), but the one thing I don't feel I have enough information on is what non-teaching trailing spouses can or do do (I have seen the other forum topics, which has been helpful, but I was hoping for more specifics). My husband is a carpenter by trade but, unfortunately, in most countries we are looking at that's not really a viable or practical option (low pay, tools and transport needed, etc). However, it would obviously be very important for him to work, not just to help out financially (although I have been told my package should cover us well), but also as he's not the type to sit around all day.

Our initial thoughts, looking at his other skills and hobbies, would be to gain some qualifications as a personal fitness trainer (he currently has a boxing coaching certificate) and look to do that self-employed/sole-proprietorship in Singapore (or Oman, Thailand or Hong Kong that we are also looking at). Does anyone have or know anyone who does or has done this? I am aware that no one here is an employment advisor for MOM, but knowledge of what others have done in similar situations would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help!
shadowjack

Re: Working as a non-teaching trailing spouse (in Singapore)

Post by shadowjack »