Just Testing the Waters

agmeyer

Just Testing the Waters

Post by agmeyer »

This question has probably been asked many times, but I have searched deep into the forums and found nothing. I am currently an alternative route math teacher finishing up my second year in Mississippi. I am in program called the Mississippi Teacher Corps, meaning I did the same thing as TFA, but I will graduate with a Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. My undergrad degree was in Political Science, so I am teaching outside of my undergrad field. Being a 26 year old, single math teacher with out any children, this seems like a nice way to explore a fun teaching option. Is there any advice anyone may have regarding this route? I am open to all regions provided housing is provided (I would like to use this as way to pay a large chunk of student loans). I am concerned about teaching abroad and coming back to the USA to find a traditional teaching job eventually.
UnCloudy

Re: Just Testing the Waters

Post by UnCloudy »

Deleted. Best wishes!
Last edited by UnCloudy on Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
agmeyer

Post by agmeyer »

I currently teach 7th and 8th grade math. Not having a math degree is something many people have told me would be a problem. At the sime time, I was fortunate enough to test out of all math classes with AP credits and entrance tests in college. Looking back now, that didn't seem like a good idea. Getting certified in AP Calc would be something I would look into.

As for people my age, what is the quality of life like? Living paycheck to paycheck or cash to spend after bills are paid? Are schools hesitant to teachers with minimal experience such as myself, but also have a Masters degree?
UnCloudy

Post by UnCloudy »

Deleted. Best wishes!
Last edited by UnCloudy on Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MIS

Post by MIS »