Which Job Fair for an IB Math Teacher

Climberman

Which Job Fair for an IB Math Teacher

Post by Climberman »

I am a high school math teacher with 8 years of international experience - China and Malaysia - in IB HL and SL math as well as TOK. I want to return to Asia and work at a good school - doesn't have to be a great school.

I am undecided as to whether to attend the Search fair in Bangkok or Cambridge OR even fly myself over to Bangkok before the fair and travel around Asia and interview at schools directly - I would like to return to Malaysia but Thailand or Vietnam also interest me.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.
hallier

Re: Which Job Fair for an IB Math Teacher

Post by hallier »

Qualified mathematics teachers with IB experience are highly sought after in all school systems.

If I was you, I would contact schools that interest you from October onwards - express a willingness (in fact a desire) to discuss your application/interest in the school via Skype.

If a school replies and asks what fair you intend to go to, tell them, but add that you hope to secure a position ahead of the fair - it worked for me. I think I wrote something like - "I have applied to attend the Search Bangkok fair but am hoping to secure a position ahead of the fair. If you are interested, I would be delighted to speak to you via Skype." The principal replied to suggest a time and a week later I had a job offer. This was in mid-October.

If your focus is Asia, Search Bangkok would be preferable - however, it is a long way from the US if you are travelling from there. Really, with your subject area, you are going to find a job. However, some of the uber schools in Asia may be staffed by the end of the Bangkok fair - they really do try to fill those hard to fill positions before the fairs.

Good luck with your job search:)
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »