What are your qualifications?

klooste

What are your qualifications?

Post by klooste »

Hello parents and teachers!

I hope this elongated question finds ya'll well!

I think a little bio is in order before I get to my questions: I am a newbie teacher, fresh out of Uni, who has landed a job in a second tier international school. I have lots of volunteer on my resume, and lots of experience working with children, but I lack experience in the classroom. I've ran camps, and designed lessons which adhere to curriculum. Currently I am teaching in an international school, and I'm loving every moment of it (yes, even the 8am-9pm days of marking)! Thus stated, I know many of you are much more experienced in the field of teaching than I am.

For personal reasons I will be returning to Canada to study a few degrees, and a diploma. I was wondering what qualifications do you have teachers? I hope to make myself more competitive in the international school market (in China, so that I can teach your awesome kids, parents!).

I know experience probably speaks louder than parchments (but I know SOME parents/recruiters quite like parchments)! Here is my plan:

I was thinking of doing an after degree in Biology and chem (2yrs) , a masters in school leadership (2yrs) and an IT diploma course(couple months) I'm interested in all these areas, and I'll have about 4 years classroom teaching experience once I return to Canada. Once I complete a bachelor of science, I HOPE I can say I'm capable of teaching biology and chem in an interview (what are your thoughts, do I need direct experience teaching bio and chem? If so, I can always find some volunteer work in Canada, where I work with a classroom teacher). I've also ran camps which taught youth and children science. Thoughts?