Can a Phd holder be allowed to teach High school

mrmandago

Can a Phd holder be allowed to teach High school

Post by mrmandago »

Hi all. I am in a bit of a dilemma. I have a Phd....(sciences) . I have taught university for 5 years and have worked in industry 10 years. I am finishing my 10 industry contract next year. I am a bit confused whether to look for a university teaching position or teach high school or look for another industry job.

I hated it when i was teaching university mainly due to the pressure to publish and the fact that you would be expected to teach too many different unrelated courses. I dont think i have the energy to continue with the publish or perish mentality. I have been dreaming of teaching in an international high school.......I attended one and loved the environment........ I love teaching but i feel the university setting does not value teaching in its self but publishing which I am honestly not ready to endure again. Kindly advise on whether I am deluding my self. Would any highschool really hire a Phd Holder with lots of "university teaching experience" and practicle industry experince............. but without a formal teacher qualification like the PGCE.

What do i need to do do increase my chances of being hired if thats what i really want.

Thank you.
gibwise

Re: Can a Phd holder be allowed to teach High school

Post by gibwise »

I would think it unlikely that many schools would consider hiring you without a formal qualification due to the fact that teaching in a University setting is very different to in a school setting. I am with you in that the priority for universities is that you are doing good research and if you could teach that would be nice. Your best approach might be to talk to a school about distance learning a teaching qualification alongside teaching.
curiousme

Post by curiousme »