Advice for newbie art teacher

az0116

Advice for newbie art teacher

Post by az0116 »

Hi respected members of ISR,

I'm a 24 year newbie teacher, and I'm writing my first post with 2 goals in mind:
1. To share my story with people who may be in my shoes a year ago (ie. recent grad wondering if international teaching is right for them), and
2. To ask for advice for those experienced international teachers and/or art teachers out there as to my next steps

------section 1------
So, I was graduating college, and wanted to teach art in China (art major). A couple of things stood in the way:
1. I didn't major in education, no TEFL...though I spent most of college TAing
2. I wanted to teach something not in high demand - art
3. there's that pesky law in China about 2 years of post graduate experience and being 25 yo to get a legal Z visa.

Well, good news is that 1 and 2 can be worked with, though I must've sifted through a million ESL offers. Rule 3 depends on the school hiring you...if it has enough guanxi...and where you are located. I think it's much tougher to circumvent the law in Beijing then a smaller city. Anyways, I got a job as an IB DP art teacher after being forced to attend a TEFL in China course by the visa authorities in my city...despite not teaching ESL...So I'm sure if you are hell bent on teaching here despite no qualifications in education, you can do it, especially if you teach a higher demand subject than art...and what subject is not in higher demand than art anyways?