Speech Pathologist positions

EllieSLP

Speech Pathologist positions

Post by EllieSLP »

Hello everyone,

I've been practicing in my field for 11 yrs in US and Canada mainly in school and outpatient (not in a hospital, but as part of the health board) settings. I can speak French well and get by in Spanish. I would like to look for a position in South America, Africa, or Europe (no pref). I know my field is specialized, but I'm not sure where to look. I'm not interested in a DoDD position (I was offered one for Japan in 2013, but turned it down) and by looking at job postings for my professional association, not many positions come up. On the other hand, I know a few schools do hire SLPs, but want to know where they are posting them. Any suggestions on how I can start my search? I'm currently a director at my current company, but am OK with an SLP position for the 2015-2016 school year. Thanks a lot.
eion_padraig

Re: Speech Pathologist positions

Post by eion_padraig »

Some of the bigger IS probably have SLP on staff, but it's a niche area to be sure. I'd probably do some looking at bigger, established IS and check out their web sites to see if the list in house SLP.

Do you know any folks working at IS as SLP already? I bet those folks get to know each other fairly well and might now of openings. I've not met any SLP at the international conferences I've been to yet.

Good luck.
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

There are positions out there but the odds are stacked against you simply because of the limited number of schools that hire fulltime SLPs. I know that ASIJ in Japan and ISBeijing have f/t SLPs and would figure that some other schools in that 1st tier would do the same. As for openings, I believe that Search Associates lists SLPs among their many categories of teachers, counselors, admin etc. I would look into that to confirm and go with SA if you are serious about seeing what is out there.