Finding work in April

peterskm

Finding work in April

Post by peterskm »

Hello all,
I`m trying to find a position in an international school for the 2014-2015 school year. Is it possible at this point? I have a master`s degree in education and 2 years of experience as a math teacher.
sid

Re: Finding work in April

Post by sid »

It's possible, anything is possible.
There are always positions open at this point, and even up to September, as teachers make last-minute decisions to leave, get ill, have to return home to take care of mum, etc. There aren't many positions, the big rush was in January and February, and they tend to pop up then disappear in spots across the globe, but they're out there. When they appear, and the closer it gets to the start of the new year, schools will be as eager to fill them as you are to have them. Schools know that most good teachers are already booked for next year, and usually won't hedge their bets by waiting for the 'perfect' candidate at this point.
Your position is not the greatest. You have the minimum amount of experience to be of interest to a decent school, most prefer more. Are you certified? Some countries/schools require that.
Your strategies should start with getting hooked up with one or more recruiting agencies so you have a daily update on what positions pop open. Apply for anything and everything. Make sure you have all your application materials ready so you can apply within minutes of learning about a post.
And be open-minded. With your credentials, you are more likely to get offers in out of the way countries, or from schools with less than perfect situations. You may need to put your time in somewhere that isn't on your top 20 list, so that your next post can be a step up the ladder.
Good luck.
PacificSurf313-Kinder

Post by PacificSurf313-Kinder »