Future

jmods

Future

Post by jmods »

Hi,

Looking for some advice. Im currently working internationally. This is my first post overseas, I have 2 years experience back home and I am currently in my first year of a two year contract. Its still early days but I am already thinking of what to do when my contract ends as I would like to move on.

Im going to get married in the summer and was wondering what the best approach would be when looking for my next post. My future wife speaks good English but its not her mother tongue. She has a degree and a teaching qualification from her country of origin (Europe). She has QTS certification from the UK. Problem is she has limited teaching experience.

What would the best approach be when applying for positions? Ideally we would like to try and get her a job at a school as well, even if its only as a TA....

If anyone has any advice, comments, etc we would greatly appreciate any input.

Thank you.
sid

Re: Future

Post by sid »

If, when you say 'good English', you mean fully professionally fluent, here's my answer:
Do not look for or accept TA positions. This would almost certainly lock her into the TA world forever, as she would never get the full-on teaching experience that is required by so many schools. And the longer she worked as a TA, the tougher it would be to break through.
You may have difficulty finding positions for her as a full teacher as she doesn't have much experience. Fair enough, but you can try, and try hard. Get all her ducks in a row, great-looking CV, practice those interview skills, read up on current educational trends etc. Get your ducks together too - the better you look, the greater the chances they'll take a chance on your wife.