8 Years IB MAth HL and SL No interviews?!

Climberman

8 Years IB MAth HL and SL No interviews?!

Post by Climberman »

I am new to this site. I am a high school math teacher with 8 years American public school experience and 8 years of international (China and Malaysia) experience teaching IB Math HL and SL as well as MYP and Theory of Knowledge.

I attended the 2014 Cambridge Search job fair and did not get even a single interview.

I sent 30 applications/resumes and cover letters to schools in October and November 2014 and again, no school wanted a Skype interview.

My references are in order as far as I know and I left my schools on good trems.

Does anyone have any explanations?
grdwdgrrrl

Re: 8 Years IB MAth HL and SL No interviews?!

Post by grdwdgrrrl »

Wow, that's discouraging. Besides the American experience, those credentials nearly match my partners. Yikes!
gengrant

Post by gengrant »

Perhaps there is something within your references that is not so flattering - all it takes is one red flag. Just a question: were those 8 years of service at 8 different schools? Someone who moves around a lot could be viewed in a less than favourable light.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Climberman,

just out of curiousity, why didn't you do BKK Search? That would have likely been a better fair for you than Cambridge.

Remember, by Cambridge, schools have been to 2 other big fairs, plus had new applications pop up on radar.

What's the fall back plan?
durianfan

Post by durianfan »

Do you have dependents?
MedellinHeel

Post by MedellinHeel »

Two questions.

How many dependents?

How broad or open was your search? (location, tiers of school, etc)
Nomads

Post by Nomads »

Climberman,