same sex wife

nalfc

same sex wife

Post by nalfc »

Hi I have read the blog on alternative relationships and I am newly applying to international schools (I have 11 years UK experience, 10 as a HOD in three different schools). I am getting married to my same sex partner (female) however I do not know when it is appropriate to mention this, we are aware that she will not qualify for spouse benefits in most countries ans that she will have to be on a tourist visa for most countries, we are obviously keeping away from the Middle East and Africa.

Do I mention before interview, after interview or not at all - clearly if they are offering school accomodation then it is an issue. I am totally stuck on what the solution should be, any advice would be greatly appreciated
migratingbird

Re: same sex wife

Post by migratingbird »

Hi, I'm not in quite the same position as you, however I do have an...erm....undesirable partner (we're not married, and he's African) in the eyes of many schools. When I put his nationality on me letter of application, I got nothing. I dropped his nationality and quickly racked up 4 interviews. In all 4 interviews I was upfront about his Kenyan passport. I got two rejections, and, feeling demoralised, I emailed the schools to ask for feedback and to see if his nationality was a factor. Both schools were quick to respond, and both denied that his nationality was the reason. One school I believe, the other I don't. However, the other two schools both offered jobs and I'm now sorted for next year. Keep plugging away and I'm sure a job will materialise. Congratulations on your upcoming marriage!
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

There are schools out there that do hire same sex couples. Is she also a teacher?

What is/are your teaching areas (or both of your teaching areas).

Shad
Flyingpigs

Post by Flyingpigs »