New To International Teaching

sofiarose

New To International Teaching

Post by sofiarose »

Hi,
Is there anyone I can ask about a job offer in Brazil. Pay seems low as I have been told, but I'd like to clarify since I am new to this. Thanks
Flyingpigs

Re: New To International Teaching

Post by Flyingpigs »

Pay is not the only thing to consider. A more important criteria is cost of living? Pay in Europe is fairly high, but the cost of living is fairly high--so saving anything is probably not going to happen. Pay in India ( for example) might be lower, but the cost of living is fairly low--so what looks like a poor salary actually goes much further than the high salary does in Europe.
What is the cost of living where you are going? What additional perks are there? Housing? Flights? etc.
sofiarose

Post by sofiarose »

I have read the cost of living can be equivalent to european standards. Basically, there is medical but prescriptionsI have read from other teachers have to be purchased by you. They do provide round trip transportation andI read that they find the cheapest airfares with lots of layovers. There is a 1200 relocation allowance. The salaryis about 26,000 us dollars with 12,000 stipend for living. The apartment is paid. Basically, I have tried for a longtime to get a job. I have been to over 5 ISS conferences, I have 17 years experience and 3 licenses. This job was all I could get and only after two others declined. Im not about money or superficial but I also dont want to be stuck as I do have bills here. I dont understand whyI am not considered for other positions.
MedellinHeel

Post by MedellinHeel »

What is your licenses or experience in?

Any dependents?

Applying all over the globe or in one or a few areas / countries?

Been to teaching fairs?
sofiarose

Post by sofiarose »

I am licensed in Prek-6 general education
Prek-6 Gifted Education
Secondary Edication 7-12 (enlgish language arts)
I have only been to ISS teaching fairs but for 5 years.