Do reviews always match reality?

torialeigh

Do reviews always match reality?

Post by torialeigh »

Hi! This is my first time applying for international jobs and I have a question about the school reviews. I know that reviews are subjective and I try to take them all with a grain of salt, but I was curious if anyone here has had an experience where they took a job at a school with less than stellar reviews and were pleasantly surprised.

Obviously if a school has dozens of similar or recent reviews that sends a clear picture, but many of the schools I am looking at have only two or three reviews or their reviews are several years old. I keep finding myself in the situation where I see a perfect position in a country I want, only to get on ISR and read a couple outdated and/or negative reviews. It's a little discouraging. Any advice or words of wisdom? Thanks!
Cheery Littlebottom

Post by Cheery Littlebottom »

I suppose peoples' perceptions ARE their reality. I have worked in schools when I have been really quite contented, and been gobsmacked to see virulent reviews which seem to make no reference to reality (as I see it) whatsoever.

Let me give you an example. In many countries, particularly in the Middle East, the school takes your passport away to put in various stamps/visas/permits etc. Also, the sponsored person (usually the husband in a teaching couple) needs an exit permit to leave the country. In my personal experience, this system has been fine. We have never had a problem, the HR department have always been very efficient. (Despite this positive experience, I do find it increasingly irritating.) But some people absolutely cannot tolerate this. If they arrived without having done their research, they will complain long and hard, and often on ISR as though they were living in a high security prison!