Cambridge Jitters

Mac1030

Cambridge Jitters

Post by Mac1030 »

Who is going to Cambridge? It's not my first fair but it is my first BIG fair. I almost signed up for BKK and am wondering if it was a mistake not to go. Several close friends landed contracts with great Tier 1 schools. I'm thrilled for them (they are singles with no dependents, with DP/MYP experience- though less than 4 years- just as an aside to younger teachers: I hope this encourages you!).

I'm signed up and ready to go to Cambridge but I am starting to stress out as heaps of positions are being snapped up right and left and there are still two more weekends of other fairs before Search Cambridge gets going.

I've got IB DP and MYP qualifications for both my teaching subjects so I'm not especially worried about the experience part. I can coach two sports having played one of them at the international level and I've got lots of experience working with ELL and SPED programs. I am not a math or science teacher though (my friends at BKK were and they told that many teachers with my teaching subjects left BKK empty handed). My last two teaching posts were international. My current school wants to keep me and my position there has yet to be filled but I need a change.

I keep going through the attending schools lists because even though there are schools that remain interesting to me on the list, many of the remaining schools are not IB schools. I know I want to stay on teaching IB so it would be a step backwards for me to go the non-IB route, though I am very open to IGCSE and already have also taught American and Canadian state/provincial curriculum in the past.

Do new schools pop up at the last minute at these fairs?

Also if nothing happens at Cambridge would you sign up for the Spring BKK or London fairs? I really hope it doesn't come to that but I suppose I could always go back to advertising and PR if nothing works out right away at a good school.