Graduating from BEd in 2014, looking for some real advice

1kingston

Graduating from BEd in 2014, looking for some real advice

Post by 1kingston »

Hello everyone!

I'm graduating from a BEd in Ontario, Canada in April to teach Biology and Chemistry (grades 7-12)

I've already become a member of Search and I'm deciding whether or not I will attend the job fair in Toronto from Jan 24 - 26. The TORF job fair is also that weekend and waiting to here back from then on whether or not I have been accepted, I'll found out in a couple of days.

I am looking for some advice to represent myself as a viable candidate to possible employers even though I have no experience. If a school is going to hire a BEd candidate, what would they be looking for?

I am also curious of what I should expect over the next 8 months of applying to schools for jobs. When do most of the positions fill? Should I keep my eye out all the way until August?

For those of you who don't know, the Canadian market is completely saturated and it is almost impossible to get a supply job in Ontario. My city graduated something like 300 candidates last year and hired only 13 people on the supply list. I know people who have been in the supply list for 8 years without a full-time job lol

And lastly, my first pick is to work in Korea since I attended exchange there before and I want to continue learning the language (it is a life goal of mine to become fluent). I eventually want to end up back there for an extended period of time. I am extremely motivated, and I love teaching. I am willing to do a lot to get a position next year, especially in Korea. Please lend me some direction even if it is some absurd highly dangerous way of getting an employers attention ;)

Thanks for everything, and if you have any informative threads I should read please post them. I'll keep searching around the forum for some answers .
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

1kingston,