emails to schools via Search website

chipmunk84

emails to schools via Search website

Post by chipmunk84 »

What do you put in an email to the school if you apply via the search website? I've sent a few but have never had a reply so decided to apply by following their instructions on their own website instead.
newchapter

Post by newchapter »

I have a short and simple paragraph saying I saw their post and will be attending ____ job fair but can also be reached via Skype. I know let them know that my profile, references, and resume can be found on the Search site. It's very short and sweet as I figure they get tons but I have gotten responses. I figure this is easy for them as one click and there all my info. is - especially the confidential references.

I'm too busy to fiddle around with the other stuff...this is working for me but I know it doesn't work for everyone. Plus, I'm new to this and casting a wide net...I suppose later, after my first gig, when I know exactly where I want to go I'll go through the school's website and apply that way - if that's what they require.
litgal

Post by litgal »

I am new to this too but my approach was a bit different than newchapter. I did the same type of introduction but prior to writing did a fairly thorough tour of the school website and tried to find something I could connect with in regards to my experiences, the position, and my desires. It is very time consuming for sure!! But I did get two Skype interviews and a couple of acknowledgments asking for additional information.