2014 Bangkok fair question

fine dude

2014 Bangkok fair question

Post by fine dude »

Can I land a job at the BKK SEARCH fair in January even if my teacher-wife doesn't join me?

I'm a certified math teacher and I've been teaching IB HL math for nearly 8 years. I'm currently working at a top-tier school in Europe and my wife has been teaching a critical PYP Asian language for the last one year.
Cheery Littlebottom

Post by Cheery Littlebottom »

Hi Fine Dude
First of all good luck! I hope you get the perfect job - I'll maybe see you there!
Secondly, if your wife is not going to work then I don't see that as TOO much of a problem. Trailing spouses, after all, are not usually interviewed.
However, if she is also recruiting then I should imagine it would be a BIG problem.
If a school really wants you AND her then maybe they would interview by skype ways before the fair. We are a teaching couple who have been in 4 great schools over the past 16 years and have never had to go to a fair (in demand subjects.) We are all booked into the BKK fair, flights, hotel the whole deal, but expect to cancel.
I would have all your recruiting stuff super ready and organised and apply like crazy starting now. We've already put in applications for our first job and have had a promising response.
With a bit of organisation and maybe luck, the fair might seem like a fall-back option, rather than the be-all and end-all.
Fortune favors the prepared mind!
Again, good luck. XX
fine dude

Post by fine dude »

Thank you, Cheery! That info really helps.
vettievette

Another Bangkok fair question

Post by vettievette »