Cracking a first tier school - how did you do it?

tangchao

Cracking a first tier school - how did you do it?

Post by tangchao »

I have been on the international circuit now for five years and have had little luck getting a break in a first tier school. So far my experience has been limited to start-up IB schools. So, to those teachers who have had success in cracking the first tier, please let me know how you did it.

I am going to have one more go at the Search and my first go at the AASSA fair this coming season. If unsuccessful, I shall consider going back to my home system.

A bit of background may be of help: I have ten years' experience teaching Humanities and Social Science subjects (including History, Junior Geo and recently, Economics). I have an undergrad in Social Sciences and a Bachelor in Education. I have been both an MYPC and a DPC, though both in start-up schools.

I'm having one last go at it. Any advice would be very much appreciated.
overseasvet2

Post by overseasvet2 »

Admin connections who were impressed by:
-our work ethic
-positive attitude
-teaching skill

I am not trying to be egotistical. You simply have to make a good impression on those who count. Before you all yell "suck up", another way of putting it is being a good employee and then having well connected supervisors.

It does not just have to be supervisors,. If you have colleagues who perceive you as good to work with and they get the break first, they can advocate for you. Never burn bridges and network like crazy.
Overhere

Post by Overhere »

One factor that rarely gets mentioned on these boards and is being in the right place at the right time. Whether its being at the right job fair, joining the right line once you're there etc, alot of it is just plain good fortune. I know this was true in my case.