Advice for a future Teacher.

Chemist

Advice for a future Teacher.

Post by Chemist »

Hi, I am a second career teacher just starting a teacher certification program
I was a grad student in chemistry. I had to leave the program with a Masters.

As a T.A. i realized that I love teaching.

I'm currently pursing a certification in sec. chemistry and math.

Any advice for how to get myself ready for a career in teaching internationally?

I'm also an American nationally.
CaliPro

Re: Advice for a future Teacher.

Post by CaliPro »

[quote="Chemist"]Hi, I am a second career teacher just starting a teacher certification program
I was a grad student in chemistry. I had to leave the program with a Masters.

As a T.A. i realized that I love teaching.

I'm currently pursing a certification in sec. chemistry and math.

Any advice for how to get myself ready for a career in teaching internationally?

I'm also an American nationally.[/quote]

Living abroad isnt for everyone.

About the only thing you can do to "get ready" is 1) travel and 2) read up about different countries and cultures you are interested in.

Good luck.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

You didnt say much about yourself so some general advice:

1) Start planing now where to do your field experience (student teaching), you want to do it in an IB school. This is probably the single most influential factor on your early teaching career. If you cant get into an IB school, then the next best option is a private school.

2) Chemistry and math are very good choices and with your graduate background will make you very marketable compared to many entry level ITs. I would strongly consider and advice adding physics and to a lessor extent biology as well. Upper level hard sciences are usually dual vacancies in some combination of chemistry, physics and math.