Demand for social sciences (IB humanities) teachers

panta_rhei

Demand for social sciences (IB humanities) teachers

Post by panta_rhei »

Hi,

I'm currently thinking about how to diversify my skill set in order to increase my employability in the future. There are two questions that I have regarding this:

1) I came across a few comments in the forum that the demand for social sciences teachers (IB humanities) in general wouldn't be that high. How can this be the case? If I look at the exam statistics (see link below), then group 3 (humanities) is the group with the largest number of exam takers in the IB diploma program (101.259 in 2012 out of which approx. 40,000 are in history). Based on that I would assume that it is the group with the highest demand for teachers. Can somebody clarify?

http://www.ibo.org/facts/statbulletin/dpstats/

2) My background is in Economics and I'm planning to do a PGCE next year which would qualify me to teach both Economics and Business Studies. My passion lies primarily in Economics and not so much in Business Studies. So I'm thinking about getting qualified to teach another subject within the IB humanities group. I'm particularly interested in history, psychology and ESS. Since the latter seems to belong more to the sciences rather than social sciences, my background in Economics would probably not make me an ideal candidate. Hence I'm left with history and psychology. Would a masters in global history or social psychology qualify me (or rather make me an attractive candidate) to teach history or psychology respectively, additionally to Economics?

I appreciate your advise.
D. Vader

Post by D. Vader »