Admin Question

UM2001

Admin Question

Post by UM2001 »

I was hoping to get a little perspective and advice. I have followed the forum mostly from afar, but now have a question that seems pertinent to ask.

First a little background:
Me: 12 years experience in teaching history and related social studies (sadly no economics, though). I have a master's in humanities and an advanced certificate in educational policy and administration. I am dually licensed in both social studies and administration. I have taught both DP and MYP. Currently, I am an IB/AP coordinator along with a host of other "junior" admin duties.

Mrs UM2001: 12 years of math experience. Master's in educational psychology. Math SL and MYP experience. Currently a teacher .80 and an instructional coach to non-tenured teachers.

Both of us have been involved in mentoring new teachers in a teaching residency, coached various sports and held leadership committee appointments at various times. The question revolves around our desire to go abroad in the next 2-3 years.

I have an opportunity to move into an assistant principal position next year at the large public high school where we currently work. Our school has 1750 students and a thriving MYP/DP program, alongside a small program of 200 or so AP exams every year. In reading this forum, it seems that a frequent point of emphasis is that to get a "break" in administration at an IS one may have to move to a less than desirable location/school. Years ago, this would not have been a problem, but we will bringing along two young kids and do not want them in truly awful schools, hoping that things will turn around.