Housing location. Suburban middle ground?

Maritimer

Housing location. Suburban middle ground?

Post by Maritimer »

I'm a new reader of this forum, having recently wandered over from Dave's ESL Cafe.

I'm intrigued by the possibility of becoming a certified middle/high school English teacher, as I love discussing literature of all kinds (I have a B.A. in English Lit).

Right now I'm not sure about this course of action, as I am very much not a city person. I've just read the thread on here which discusses rural options, and the impression that I get is that most IS job opportunities are in the middle of cities. Could I reasonably expect to find a quiet life in the IS circuit? I don't want to live somewhere rural, but somewhere fairly quiet that doesn't necessitate much of a commute. As a newbie I'll work anywhere warm (I'm in Canada now), but after a few years I'll need to try to find places that are less fast paced if I want to keep my peace of mind.

I've traveled a little and so I know that culture shock won't be an issue, but I have very little experience of living in cities. I need to look out my window and see trees there, to have somewhere in nature to walk not far away, to not hear much traffic etc., and ideally to be by water. Tranquil accommodation (ideally fairly tranquil everything), for me, will be the name of the game.

Do any of you live in suburbs now? or have you in the past? Perhaps the middle ground that I'm describing is quite common.

Perhaps this is a silly post, but I can't think of another way to get a general impression.
overseasvet2

Post by overseasvet2 »