Where we come from...matters

grumpy

Where we come from...matters

Post by grumpy »

Hi all. I am from the USA, though I hold close ties to Mexico, so I am an "American" through-and-through. I am a language teacher and I hope and pray that I am a pretty decent one. Several times in my professional international school teaching career I have encountered situations involving different forms of curriculum, ways of presenting curricula, communication in English etc. Mostly with Australians and people from New Zealand, but also from Great Britain and other places. The US takes such huge hits as being poor in the quality of public education that it provides that I am sometimes unwilling to attempt to defend it. However, I will now do so by saying the criticisms are often without merit in that they do not factor in the socio-economic restraints of the "American teacher".

That is one topic.

The other topic I want to put forth is that I was made "hot and bothered" by the insistence at a former school of using the "British" system of spelling. To me it was in no way international and as a language teacher I balked. Was this wrong? I do not think so, but I would like to hear from others.

Cheers.
expatteacher99

Post by expatteacher99 »

British spelling makes your horny?

Just kidding. In my part of the US, that's what "hot and bothered" usually means. :-)
grumpy

Post by grumpy »

Congratulations on picking up on my sarcasm, dude. :wink:
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

As a Canadian, and an international teacher, both UK and US spelling have validity. As long as they are consistent in their spelling, I let them roll with it.
grumpy

Post by grumpy »

Same here, shadowjack.
mbovi

Post by mbovi »

English did come from England. I like to stick to the most original form of English....hence, the " British system " of spelling is what I practice.