Early Years Standardized Tests in PYP Schools?

kano_87

Early Years Standardized Tests in PYP Schools?

Post by kano_87 »

Hi all,

I am a kindergarten teacher (age 5-6) and my school is requiring that our students complete a standardized test for language to score reading, writing, speaking and listening.

I am wondering if this is common practice for students this young in other international schools? Seems a bit much to me.
hikkaduwa

Post by hikkaduwa »

Not in ours and as far as I know standardized tests are not promoted by the IB.

We do have some standardized testing though for reading fluency. This happens from grade 1 onwards, not for EY.
sid

Post by sid »

Define standardized.
The same assessment given to all/most students in standard conditions (meaning the same conditions for all children, not necessarily sitting at desks with number 2 pencils)? Possibly something written by the teachers? This could be fine. Common examples are Running Records, the New Zealand Diagnostic Assessment for Math, end-of-UOI summative assessment. These are all technically standardized assessments, and IMHO very good practice.

If you mean standardized in the more common usage, an externally set and marked assessment with some form of exam conditions, there are some in use, and yes in PYP schools too. MAP has an early years form, and ACER is just coming on the market with one. I'm not as convinced by these, but then again I've never seen either one used, so I'm not in much position to judge.
micki0624

Post by micki0624 »

We do the ISA test, but its only 2-8 grade. My US school did tests in kinder and it was too much!
seashell

Post by seashell »