Modern Knowledge School, Bahrain?

djbambi

Modern Knowledge School, Bahrain?

Post by djbambi »

Hello,
I am about to get an interview for this school for a position of French teacher and head of department. I have no experience as a head and first of all, I am scared!
Do you know this school? is it good or not? what salary is good in Bahrain to save aside as well? what are the ups and downs of the place?
any advice welcome.
thank you in advance. :D
Dawson

Post by Dawson »

Bahrain is a small island and I currently teach here at a different school. I haven't actually heard of that school. I've heard of some of the others, but not this one. That doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad thing, but it does mean it's not really heard of much. Bahrain is a great place to live. This is my first year here, but Insh'Allah I'll be here for awhile. It's very laid back. The people are friendly and it's much more open than lots of other ME countries. For example, you can buy alcohol at liquor stores without any rations or special ID's needed. You can also buy pork products. So, all in all, I think it's a very nice blend of west and Middle East. Not sure if you'd be paid in Bahraini Dinar. One BD is about $2.65 so I'd think a fair salary would be somewhere around 1000 dinar per month, but that depends on your experience. Plus if you'll be the head of dept. than you should get more. Since Bahrain is a small island you can't really drive anywhere, but the nice thing is we are so close to lots of great weekend destinations. Teachers at my school have taken some group trips to Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Jordan to name a few. You really can travel easily from here. It sounds like a good opportunity for you, but I'd find out a little bit more about the school first.
Max007

Post by Max007 »

Sorry to interrupt, but I was wondering if you have heard of the Bahrain Banyan School Dawson?
djbambi

Post by djbambi »