Strategy for next year

antitravolta

Strategy for next year

Post by antitravolta »

I will be starting my first year of teaching overseas next year, but it's on a maternity cover for one year. That said, I'm right back in the recruiting game next year. I am certified in middle school math grades 5-9, but this year will teach classes as high as 11th grade. I will have 5 total years, but again this will be my first international. I have no IB or AP experience.

I'm trying to decide on my strategy for this coming year. The easiest job fair for me to get to will be the Search Hong Kong fair, but assuming they'll let me off for a few days, I could get to Search Bangkok as well. From what I've heard about Bangkok, is it even worth it for me to go with no IB experience? Is Hong Kong something that would work for me? I know it's very specialized. Are there any reasons to think I'd be a bad fit there?

This past year, I went to Search Cambridge and it was a very frustrating experience. Outside of IB jobs, there were 4 jobs. I set up interviews for all, but only 1 was still available when I reached the door for the interview. I ended up getting my job through a Skype interview. One thing I did learn at the fair is that teaching computers would have been my best path at that fair so I'll approach my resume with a much broader perspective this time. Will Skype be my best path next year or will one of the fairs be a good idea? Thanks in advance for your help!
grumpy

Post by grumpy »

As a language and social sciences teacher, I cannot really give you any pearls of wisdom about the best fair for a maths person, but most students I encounter teach ME about computers, not the other way around. It does not seem to me that there is a huge sense of demand for "computer teachers", though, of course, computer competence is basically a must. Maybe I am wrong on this.
antitravolta

Post by antitravolta »