Not Understanding the Actions of Recruiters

Mangoes68

Not Understanding the Actions of Recruiters

Post by Mangoes68 »

I am new to the international job hunt. I have been to two job fairs. Every interview I've had, I heard, "you're a strong candidate." They express how much they like my references. One recruiter went as far as to say that I was "in the running" for the position. The recruiters tend to be positive in their responses and always give the impression that I may get the job. However, I never get a follow up email to learn of the final outcome. I am finding that these international recruiters can be insensitive in their approach and not forthcoming with the truth. Has anyone had this experience during their search?

Thanks for the feedback
AnnieT

Post by AnnieT »

Most international recruiters are two faced shits. Get used to it.

I have just wasted 3 weeks waiting for a contract to arrive and when I contacted the school they said that they were almost sure that they still needed me. This was after they had sent me an offer letter.

They will give you a good feeling when they are face 2 face and then fork about for weeks.
Monkey

Post by Monkey »

It can be frustrating when recruiters don't get back to you. I wouldn't say it's a problem that is endemic only to IT. I have friends back home in other fields who have the same problem when job hunting. They get one or two interviews and then...nothing.

Have you been contacting these recruiters after interviews? I always put a thank you note in their box after the interview. And, if necessary, another email the next day.
musobabe

Good luck

Post by musobabe »

I have noticed a whole batch of new jobs popping up this week. Keep at it and good luck!!
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

If they aren't signing you up to the contract, keep playing the line to hook the fish - er, job - but keep fishing! There are many strong candidates out there and some will already have international experience.