Broke contract for a sound reason--did it kill my career?

KellyGuy

Broke contract for a sound reason--did it kill my career?

Post by KellyGuy »

About 3 or 4 weeks ago I informed my prinicipal and superintendent that I will not be returning next year, since my sister's cancer has returned for the third time. It is a sound reason, of course. As I told them both when I talked to them in person, I missed the last three years of my mother's life and I do not want this to happen with my sister if it is terminal.

Once the issue is settled (hopefully by a third remission after treatment) will I be able to land a job at another international school?

I teach physics, AP physics, and secondary maths. Unfortunately, I have no IB experience.

I have not asked if I will be able to get letters of recommendation from them, I figured I would wait until it is closer to the end of the year, and my "smart goals" have been achieved and well documented for this year.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

Kill your career no, but you did hurt it.
Whats going to happen in the future is that at some point your former school is going to say is you "exited your contract early for a medical/family emergency". Some schools will hold that against you. ISs are businesses and despite your emergency you didnt do what you agreed to do in your contract. A recruiter MAY be concerned that you will leave them if your sister remitts again, or another family member gets ill. Some recruiters will understand and your school may even release you from your contract (essentially post-writing your contract as if it was a 1 year contract).

What you need to do is talk to your administration NOW, and workout the specifics of your departure. You gain nothing by waiting. If your exam scores come back favorably, or your performance improves it can only help you. If the situation deteriates (for reasons outside your control even) you will have your negotiated separation already in hand.
IAMBOG

Post by IAMBOG »