Working in Kuwait

DallasTX2

Working in Kuwait

Post by DallasTX2 »

I have been lurking on this board for awhile and I know that there are several of you who currently work in Kuwait that are active contributors, so I have a question. My wife was just offered a nice compensation package at a new school their in Kuwait and we are going to accept, so now it is time for me to find employment. I currently teach at a premier college prep school in Texas, but I teach in the Biblical Studies department so I am not a certified teacher. I have two graduate degrees and five years of teaching experience between the university and high school levels. I have served as the Dean of Students at a respected small University here in Texas. I was a collegiate coach for seven years, as well, and I have two graduate degrees. I have also lived and worked in Turkey and as a contractor in Baghdad, so I am very familiar with how things work in the ME. I would love to find a way to teach/work with students but I definitely need to find some type of work. What advice would any of you with experience in Kuwait offer me?

My wife and I are heading abroad because we do not have children and we want to travel. It would make the most sense for us to have similar calendar schedules so I would ideally like to find work at a school. I know how important certifications are in the ME, so I understand that I may not be able to land a teaching gig, despite my diverse and colorful resume.

What advice can y'all offer me as I begin my job search???

Many thanks!!!
vitaminz

Post by vitaminz »

As long as you have a bachelor's degree you should be able to get a job teaching IN THAT SUBJECT AREA in Kuwait at one of the many private schools. You could also try to land a job as a supply teacher. Some schools have these although I'm not sure which ones.
BigSky

Post by BigSky »