TEFL Courses, first-timer

ccorazz

TEFL Courses, first-timer

Post by ccorazz »

Hello all,

I'm a soon-to-be college graduate interested in teaching EFL worldwide. I'm about to apply to Oxford TEFL's 5-week TEFL certification course in Cadiz. I see that they are backed by Trinity College, which is allegedly one of the best, but can anyone speak to this program's effectiveness or Oxford TEFL as a school?

Otherwise, which other schools/programs offer a legitimate and well-known TEFL certification course?
chilagringa

Post by chilagringa »

You would probably be best off asking this kind of question on a website like http://www.eslcafe.com/ because it's more geared to EFL. This site is more for teaching in actual K-12 schools.

But, for the record, I found that the CELTA was pretty good for EFL. I actually learned a lot. It's offered in a ton of different places.
ccorazz

Post by ccorazz »

Yeah :?, I started to realize that after I signed up.

Many thanks!
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Corazz - why not do a PGCE or a teaching cert to teach English? As a certified teacher currently teaching at a uni, but heading back to K-12 in September, people with just an ESL certification starting out have it nowhere near as nice as a certified teacher at a solid international school...
ccorazz

Post by ccorazz »

Jack, your advice piqued my interest, so I looked it up really briefly. So you're saying that the PGCE/teaching cert is like an MAT degree-type thing like what you would earn at an American university?? And when you say English, do you mean ESL or English lit?