Advice about Europe/UAE

apovivi

Advice about Europe/UAE

Post by apovivi »

Hello! I’ve read many threads published on the forum regarding teaching overseas and ME particularly. I have some questions to ask and I’d really appreciate your piece of advice.
First of all, my husband and I are a teaching couple. I am a Physics/ICT teacher. My husband’s been teaching ICT and middle school Maths. We have been teaching for more than ten years in Greece. We’ve also been awarded QTS. Unfortunately, we have no previous international teaching experience. We decided to start our international teaching career and that’s why I ask for your advice.

1) We’ve been travelling a lot through Europe, so the first thing that comes naturally to us is making our new steps in a European country. But how easy would be for us to find a teaching job in an international school out there? Are we strong candidates for such positions?

2) We are seriously considering working in ME (UAE/ Oman). Oman sounds a good place to start. What are the best schools in Oman? What are those we should avoid? We’ve never been to Oman so we don’t have any idea about the way of living / working. How about the salaries and the allowances?

3) I’ve read that most of the vacancies in European international/IB school will appear in April/May and the majority of ME vacancies will have been filled by then. Do you think we could find any vacancy available in Oman or UAE after April/May? And of course what kind of schools will recruit during spring/summer and what should we bear in mind as this will be our first international job?

Thank you for your time and consideration! Your advice and suggestions would be priceless to us!
higgsboson

Post by higgsboson »

I'm guessing English is not your mother tongue? That would definitely put you at a disadvantage in many Asian countries, especially China.

I taught in Kuwait and it would put you at a disadvantage there as well but not as great a disadvantage as in China.