Finding a job in SE Asia (particularly Bangkok)

Colin

Finding a job in SE Asia (particularly Bangkok)

Post by Colin »

Hello everyone! I have a few questions about finding employment in SE Asia (particularly Bangkok).

First, a little about my background....I have been teaching for 8 years, I have a Master's in School Administration, my first seven years were teaching in the states and I am currently in year one of a two year contract at an American school in Latin America.

I would like to start applying to schools in Bangkok next year (for the 2014-2015 school year). What are my chances of landing at a Tier 1 or 2 school? What about job fairs? Is a fair the best way to go? I was hired at my current job after applying directly to the school and completing a couple of Skype interviews. Would leaving my current school after the initial two year contract be looked at negatively, or should I stay here 3 or 4 years before trying to move on.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. I enjoy my current job but my dream destination has always been Bangkok....though I would also be interested in schools in Cambodia or Laos as well.
durianfan

Post by durianfan »

What are you applying for? Teacher or administrator? Do you have any IB experience?

Thailand is one of the most competitive countries for IT jobs. These schools get hundreds of CVs per week, and many of them hire exclusively from job fairs.
Colin

Post by Colin »

I am looking for a teaching position...not administrator. No, I don't have any IB experience yet.
Mr.C4ke

Post by Mr.C4ke »

As BKK is so competitive, it may depend on your subject fields, dependents (the extra costs of hiring you) and IB, or lack of, experience; boiling down to the question, are you an attractive candidate for a school?

Laos has only one IS that I know of, and that is IB, Cambodia, a few more.

What curriculum do you have experience teaching in?
durianfan

Post by durianfan »