My job hunt experience / Cambridge Fair

teachman

My job hunt experience / Cambridge Fair

Post by teachman »

So... I've been lurking on this forum for about a year, trying to collect info on the IS circuit and how to break into it. I've been collecting some pretty useful tips this past year, so I figure I should share my experience, which I hope might help out other teachers in the future.

First off, I'm a certified HS math teacher with dependents. I've got 5 years of teaching experience stateside, but I've never lived abroad before. I found out early on that teaching math would make me more hirable, but the dependents would make me a tougher sell to recruiters. Didn't have any AP or IB experience either to bolster my CV, so I knew I had to do something to make myself marketable if I wanted to have a shot at the better schools.

I dedicated myself to completely revamping the way I teach for pretty much the past year, "leveling up" as a teacher (as I like to call it). I started using some new teaching practices that I’d learned over the years, started to use more technology in the classroom… basically, tried to become a better teacher in a way that would make me more marketable in the IS world.

Signed up for the Search fair in Cambridge because it was relatively close by. Me and Mrs. Teachman have been religiously checking the Search site for the past 6 months, combing through all the schools in the database, emailing schools as position matches were updated.

The month leading up to the fair was pretty much dedicated to fair prep. I created a spread sheet with all the schools that were going to be at the fair that were position matches, so I could do side by side comparisons easily. I bought a new suit, polished up my CV and printed them out on nice resume paper, made thank you cards on nice card stock (included my picture and contact info), and printed out some business cards to hand out to potential recruiters.