a couple questions about limited experience...

livefree

a couple questions about limited experience...

Post by livefree »

So far, schools have not been interested in me because I am a new teacher, and also my lack of IB PYP experience.

My first question is ...what schools (be specific plz) would hire new teachers?

second question....how does one get IB PYP experience?

Thanks.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

Colegio Americano de Quito, for one. They have their own training for IB.
livefree

Post by livefree »

[quote="heyteach"]Colegio Americano de Quito, for one. They have their own training for IB.[/quote]

Thanks! I will contact them.

Have you taught there? If so, did you like it? Also, is it a good, safe location for a single female?
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Livefree - no experience whatsoever other than practicum?

If so, try schools in the Middle East - don't expect PYP, but expect to get experience - and then make a move to a PYP school...
livefree

Post by livefree »

[quote="shadowjack"]Livefree - no experience whatsoever other than practicum?

If so, try schools in the Middle East - don't expect PYP, but expect to get experience - and then make a move to a PYP school...[/quote]

practicum experience, plus 1 year
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

CAQ is a very well-organized school and has been around a long time. It is a full IB school. They take very good care of their ex-pat staff. Quito is reasonably safe; pickpockets and bag slashers are a problem but the school will teach you how to stay safe.
inman

Post by inman »

I agree with Shadowjack. Take one step at a time. First of all aim for a school that will give you some experience. If that experience happens to be IB then you're in luck, but if not, at least you got some experience and have more chips at the table next time.