Single mom with school age daughter

climbergirl

Single mom with school age daughter

Post by climbergirl »

Heading to Search Cambridge soon but wondering at my prospects.

I've been an educator for 24+ years, but only 4 that are traditional classroom K-12 experiences. I've taught high school Biology, Chem, and Physics (not as much physics), am certified in Middle School Science, and Secondary Science and am "highly qualified" in math (meaning I passed the PLACE exam). I was a NOLS instructor (see www.nols.edu) for 12 years and had an educational consulting business (developed curriculum, was hired by families who pulled their middle schoolers out of school to privately teach their kids math, science, Spanish). I have a BS in Natural Sciences and MS in Biomedical Sciences (just completed the latter which meant leaving my teaching job to go to school). My varied experience has made me a much better and more creative classroom teacher - I have many more tools and think outside the box more than if I had only taught in the classroom. However, I'm not sure how to convey this in the 30 second sign-up session. I did email a bunch of schools, filled out online applications with cover letters, but for the wham-bam I'm not sure how to get this across. Also, I know that hiring a single mom is not a school's first choice. Any thoughts out there?
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Hi climbergirl,

first of all, forget about cover letters. Make a one page About Me sheet - highlight on this your education, training, skills, experience and philosphy. Also have a personal info section (for instance, I mention my marriage and my kids). You should have a photo of you on it near or at the top.

This will not replace your CV, but it will replace your cover letter.

Send an inquiry - in the title of the email, directly refer to the position you seek (ie HS Chemistry Teacher Position).

Sciences are in high demand.